I don’t think anyone could have scripted that much better. Unless the game ended in a shootout.

Sid the Kid stuck a dagger in the collective hearts of American hockey fans and lifted the entire Canadian nation on his shoulders. The silver lining of this loss is the fact that a good chunk of the USA just became fans of hockey. Because that was, without doubt, the greatest hockey game I have ever seen. Off the top of my head I can’t think of many that could top it.

Hats off the US though. No one picked them to medal and they defied everyone and just about stole another one from Canada. Ryan Miller, remained excellent all day, although I’m sure he wants that last one back.

I’ll have a couple more posts up and that will be it from Vancouver. I have about and hour of daylight left.

