It’s tough not to get starstruck up here. Everywhere you look in both hockey venues you see at least one recognizable face.

The NBC crew is a prime example. With Kenny Albert (MSG) Doc Emrick (Versus/MSG), Joe Micheletti (MSG), Mike Milbury, AJ Mleczko (1998 Gold Medalist), Ed Olczyk, Bill Patrick (Versus) and Jeremy Roenick.

Today alone, I bumped into a hodgepodge of familiar hockey faces. But it was meeting John Vanbiesbrouck that was the kicker. I managed not to gush, but it was still awesome meeting one of my favorite goaltenders. Not to mention, he had, bar none, the greatest mask ever (see below).

I also bumped into John Buccigross’ favorite player, Ray “Chicken Parm” Ferraro.

Aside from seeing a handful of hockey icons, I have also ran into a few familiar faces. Bucky Gleason, of The Buffalo News, and I got to catch up at the US women vs. China. And, just today, I got to say hello and catch up with John Wawrow (Associated Press) and Jim Corsi (Buffalo Sabres goaltender coach).

Who knows? Maybe I will bump into Gretzky next week.

