Michael Scott loves swag. So do I.

Olympic Broadcasting Services gave a crew gift to everyone working the Vancouver Games. My gift was made up of a few Olympic hand books, a McDonald’s notepad, a couple Olympic pins and an OBS backpack. The pins and the backpack were the best part of the gift. This adds to the NBC merchandise I already have.

On top of getting some free stuff yesterday, the NHL players participating in the games arrived in town. All of the big guns practiced yesterday including the USA and Canada. I was across town working Canada vs. Switzerland and Sweden vs. Slovakia on the women’s side.

The Canada-Swiss game went as expected, ending in a 10-1 win for the hosts. But, Slovakia continues to amaze everybody. The rookie team went punch for punch with the defending silver medalists before Pernilla Winberg and the Swedish powerplay salted the game away. Winberg set a women’s Olympic record with four goals, however, it is unclear whether she will be credited her second tally from yesterday. Replays clearly showed Winberg knocking the puck out of mid-air into the net but Danijela Rundqvist was credited with the goal.

I also made my on-air debut at the Winter Games last night. I handed Kenny Albert a note about the Belarus upset over the Swedish men at Salt Lake City and he gave me a little shout out during the third period. This game aired overnight at 5am EST, so I’m not sure too many people heard my shout out.

USA vs Switzerland start the men’s competition off today. I think I will be over at UBC for the US women and Russia.

